ChatGPT vs Claude Desktop for MCP servers
ChatGPT and Claude Desktop differ in 7 of 10 facts: publisher, kind, runs on, connects to, headers for remote servers, server config, servers that work in it.
| Fact | ChatGPT | Claude Desktop |
|---|---|---|
| Publisher | OpenAI | Anthropic |
| Kind | Web app, Desktop app, Mobile app | Desktop app |
| Runs on | Web, macOS, Windows, Linux | macOS, Windows, Linux |
| Price | Free plan | Free plan |
| Licence | Not stated | Not stated |
| Connects to | Local (stdio), Remote (HTTP) | Local (stdio), Remote (HTTP), Remote (SSE) |
| Headers for remote servers | Yes | No |
| Server config | No config we write | claude_desktop_config.json (Settings › Developer › Edit Config) |
| Servers that work in it | No config we write | 119,761 |
| What we checked | Matches the official docs | Matches the official docs |
| Add a server | In ChatGPT | In Claude Desktop |
From each client's own documentation and site, as linked on its page. The server counts are today's install configs that work in each.