Amp vs Claude Code for MCP servers
Amp and Claude Code differ in 5 of 10 facts: publisher, kind, runs on, price, server config.
| Fact | Amp | Claude Code |
|---|---|---|
| Publisher | Amp | Anthropic |
| Kind | Terminal, Web app, Desktop app, Mobile app | Terminal, Editor extension, Desktop app, Web app |
| Runs on | macOS, Web, iOS, Android | macOS, Windows, Linux, Web |
| Price | Free plan | Paid |
| Licence | Not stated | Not stated |
| Connects to | Local (stdio), Remote (HTTP), Remote (SSE) | Local (stdio), Remote (HTTP), Remote (SSE) |
| Headers for remote servers | Yes | Yes |
| Server config | ~/.config/amp/settings.json (user) or .amp/settings.json (workspace) | Set up in the app |
| Servers that work in it | 123,036 | 123,036 |
| What we checked | Matches the official docs | Matches the official docs |
| Add a server | In Amp | In Claude Code |
From each client's own documentation and site, as linked on its page. The server counts are today's install configs that work in each.